Wednesday, January 19, 2011

The Waiting by Suzanne Woods Fisher

The second in the Lancaster County Secrets series, which (since I have now read 1, 2 and 3 ... more about three on January 29th - don't forget to come back!!) I have fallen in love with!  I actually purchased the Kindle version of this book after I read the first and received the third to review - I wanted to be on top of things and boy, did I make the right choice in purchasing this book!

We are brought back to the Zook family whom we met briefly in book 1, The Choice, and are knee deep in Amish life in the late1960's/early 1970s, the Vietnam War Era.  Segregation abound.  Many twists, plot turns, and interesting characters drive this story.  Death, War, Post Traumatic Stress, Alzheimers, and most importantly LOVE and Faith in God.  As pointed out, loss is prevalent in this story but faith in God is stronger and the healings of many hearts because of this strong faith is shown well again.

Ms. Woods Fisher portrays life in the Amish town in Pennsylvania well and with great detail.  Without spoiling the book, I do have to tell you that I loved the twists and turns and could almost see through the window of the one-roomed schoolhouse or the beauty of the horses foaling. 

Another fabulous read for any and all ages - I'd say from 7th grade up ... but in no means is this a "young adult" book.  Excellent, again, for book groups looking to explore Amish, family dynamics and/or faith.  I rated this 5 out of 5 stars on


~Rachel~ said...

I am always looking for new things to read...I am a book worm. Thank you for the review. I appreciate it! Have a fabulous day!

Suzanne said...

Hi Coffee Please!
Thanks so much for your review of "The Waiting!" I'm so glad you enjoyed that's been one of my favorites. The kind of book that just wrote itself. And I appreciate that you pointed out that teens could read it--so true!
And a HUGE thank you for posting your review on Amazon! What a gift to an author! Warmly, Suzanne